Vancouver Photo Assistant & Digital Tech

instagram

about

About

hello! this is me!
Hi I’m Mathew.

I am a portrait and art photographer based in Vancouver, but also have lived and taught photography in Toronto.

I started in Film as a youth, but gave into Digital photography in 2002.

I’m familiar with the Phase One and Leaf systems alongside CaptureOne for tethered shooting with Mamiya, Hasselblad, Canon and Nikon systems. I’ll baby your data from start to finish with complete asset management and you can feel secure that everything is backed up safety.

I can run circles around the Adobe Creative Suite and Lightroom.

I’m Mac based, but PC fluent.

I’ve worked with all manner of strobe and continuous lighting systems while I managing a downtown Toronto studio space specializing in Fashion, Commercial and Editorial work.

That said, I’m not afraid to get dirty on location to get the job done.

To see some of my photography, please visit : www.mathewsmith.com

or my personal blog at blog.mathewsmith.com

Further questions? Would you like references? Want to check availability?
Email me at righthand@vancouverassistant.ca

suppliers-gear

Suppliers / Gear

My preferred suppliers include:
Photography and lighting gear rental:
Flashpoint Rentals – http://www.flashpointrentals.com
rentals@flashpointrentals.com // 604-872-1017
(They can get almost anything – if they don’t have it in stock they will find out who does and get it for you.)

Phase one digital backs and digitech station rental:
UCOO – http://ucoo.ca
info@ucoo.ca // 604-722-7836

Large production equipment and lighting:
William F. Whites – http://www.whites.com
604-253-5050

Misc consumables / foggers / gak:
HollyNorth – http://www.hollynorth.com
info@hollynorth.com // 604-299-2000

Walkies:
CopyThat! – http://copythatwalkies.com
rentals@copythatwalkies.com // 604-616-6431

Awesome catering:
Smoke and Bones – http://www.smokeandbones.ca
smokeandbones@icloud.com // 604-990-4002

I keep this list updated! – Last update : Dec 2015

 


 

I also have equipment on hand available for an additional fee when booked – more info here.

clients

Past Clients

A few of the photographers whom I've worked with as first assistant / lighting assistant / digital capture tech :

Steve Chase – www.stevechasedemo.com
Kurt Iswarienko – www.kurtiswarienko.com
Brendan Meadows – www.brendanmeadows.com
Andre Paul Pinces – www.pincesphoto.com
Mike Lewis – www.mikelewisphotographer.com
Dexter Qunito – www.dexterquinto.com
Mark Liddell – www.markliddell.com
David Ellingsen – www.davidellingsen.com
Eydis Einarsdottir – www.studio80s.com
Philip Jarmain – www.philipjarmain.com
Ben Van Hook – www.benvanhook.com
Steve Beaudet – www.boshoots.com
Carlo Ricci – www.carloricci.com
Leigh Righton – www.leighrighton.com
Raphael Ouellet – www.raphaelouellet.ca
Buffy Goodman – www.buffygoodman.com
Brett Gilmore – www.brettgilmour.com
Brandon Barre – www.brandonbarre.com
Johnathon Vaughn Strebly – www.epixstudios.com
Diem Franke – www.diemfranke.com
Holly Stewart – www.hollystewart.com
Waldy Martens – www.waldymartens.com
Boone Rodriguez – www.boonerodriguez.com
Lindsay Siu – www.lindsaysiu.com
Andrew Eccles – www.andreweccles.com
Eike Schroter – www.productionstills.com
Mitch Jenkins – www.mitchjenkins.com
Among many others..
 

 

My work has been published in : Interview Magazine, Hunger Magazine, Display Magazine, Exclaim Magazine, Vancouver Sun, The Georgia Straight, The Provence, The New Current, Vancouver Music Review, The CBC, The Atlantic, Design Edge, Vancouver is Awesome, this is vancity, Langara News.. and more.

I am also an accredited Nikon Professional photographer (NPS) and PPOC Member.

Familiar with almost all lighting and camera equipment, capture systems and of course proper film set etiquette.

With assistance from Wonderful Machine

go-bag

Go Bag

go-bag!

 

I thought it would be helpful to share what I’ve got in my standard “go-bag” for assisting.

  • 50 feet of rugged locking 10 gauge grounded extension cable
  • Voltage / Ground plug tester
  • Grounded breakout for 3 outlets
  • Gaffer tape
  • Light meter
  • Pocket Wizard Plus II x 2
  • AA / AAA / CR123 / CR2 / LR44 batteries
  • Sync cables – pc to mini – mini to large / mini to mini / mini to large adaptor
  • LED Flashlights
  • Rosco Gels – Colour correction and Creative colour kit
  • Multi tools – Small and large
  • Screwdriver – multi head
  • Mini Firstaid Kit / Aspirin / Caffeine pills
  • HotHands Gloves
  • Manfrotto Magic Arm
  • Manfrotto Super Clamps x 4
  • Tripod / Camera adaptor
  • Spigots x 4
  • A Clamps – Mini (for clothes and small items)
  • A Clamps – Small / Med / Large (for paper, lights, grip needs)
  • USB 2 & 3 Tether cable and 15 foot UBS extension cord
  • USB card reade
  • Sensor / Lens Blower
  • Sharpie Markers and pens
  • USB Stick software pack – Capture One 5 – 8, Lightroom 4 / 5 / CC, Photoshop CS5 / CS6 / CC
  • WIND Mobile USB Cellular Data stick (for locations that lack internet)
  • Spare iPhone charger battery packs with cables for old and new iPhones
  • iPhone 5

Luckily it all fits into my tough canvas surplus army bag with a hard flat bottom.

Hope that helps those building their own go-bags or those wondering what I bring to set by default.

contact

Available locally or on location worldwide 24/7

Get in touch!

righthand@vancouverassistant.ca
778-855-9953